Sydney Metro North West Line


Merto train at Epping station on the Sydney Metro North West line, 26 May 2019.

Year Opened:

Chatswood–Epping 2009; Epping–Tallawong 2019



North Ryde, Macquarie Park, Macquarie University, Epping, Cherrybrook, Castle Hill, Hills Showground, Norwest, Bella Vista, Kellyville, Rouse Hill, Tallawong


Typical Journey Time:

37 minutes (Chatswood–Tallawong)


Typical Peak Frequency:

4 minutes


Typical Off-peak Frequency:

10 minutes

Typical Weekend Frequency:

10 minutes


Australia’s first Metro line opened between Chatswood and Tallawong in May 2019. It extends to the north-western suburbs of Sydney, and is operated by Metro Trains Sydney. The line from Chatswood to Epping opened in 2009 as a suburban line integrated with Sydney rail network. In 2018 the line was shut down and converted to a Metro line, re-opening in 2019 as part of the Sydney Metro North West line. The Sydney Metro North West line is underground between Chatswood and Bella Vista, and has a 4 km elevated viaduct between Bella Vista and Rouse Hill. Each station has platform screen doors. Stabling and maintenance facilities and a control centre are located at Tallawong. Passengers travelling to the city need to change trains at Chatswood, but the Sydney Metro line will eventually extend to the CBD and Bankstown.