top of page

Beenleigh Line

Park Road station, 14 January 2018.

Year Opened:

Roma Street–South Brisbane 1978; South Brisbane–Dutton Park 1891; Dutton Park–Yeerongpilly 1884; Yeerongpilly–Beenleigh 1885



South Brisbane, South Bank, Park Road, Dutton Park, Fairfield, Yeronga, Yeerongpilly, Moorooka, Rocklea, Salisbury, Coopers Plains, Banoon, Sunnybank, Altandi, Runcorn, Fruitgrove, Kuraby, Trinder Park, Woodridge, Kingston, Loganlea, Bethania, Edens Landing, Holmview, Beenleigh


Typical Journey Time:

63 minutes (Roma Street–Beenleigh); 27 minutes (Roma Street–Coopers Plains)


Typical Peak Frequency:

15 minutes


Typical Off-peak Frequency:

15 minutes (Coopers Plains); 30 minutes (Beenleigh)


Typical Weekend Frequency:

30 minutes

The Beenleigh line extends to the south-eastern suburbs of Brisbane. Between Roma Street and South Brisbane the line crosses the Merivale Bridge across the Brisbane River, which has dual (narrow and standard) gauge tracks. The Beenleigh line is double track between Roma Street and Salisbury, has three tracks between Salisbury and Kuraby, and is double track between Kuraby and Beenleigh. A dual gauge freight line runs adjacent to the Beenleigh line between South Brisbane and Salisbury, where it diverges, with the standard gauge line extending to New South Wales. Trains on the Beenleigh line stop at all stations. On weekdays some services terminate at Coopers Plains and Kuraby. Services from the Beenleigh line typically extend to Ferny Grove after travelling through the city. The Gold Coast line shares the Beenleigh line before continuing south.


bottom of page