top of page

Passenger Train and Tram Operators

Most regular passenger trains in Australia are operated by government-owned organisations. A notable exception is Journey Beyond, which operates three interstate passenger trains. The vast majority of passenger train services in Australia run on suburban and interurban railway lines in the five mainland capital cities of Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide. Trams and light rail services currently operate in Melbourne, Adelaide, Sydney, the Gold Coast, Canberra and Newcastle, with all of these operated by private companies.

Links to interstate and intrastate passenger train and tram operators are below.


New South Wales



Western Australia

South Australia

Australian Capital Territory

bottom of page