top of page

Diesel Multiple Units

Sprinter Diesel Multiple Unit railcars led by 7007 approaching Southern Cross station, Melbourne. VLocity Diesel Multiple Units are stabled at right, 20 December 2017.

Diesel Multiple Units (DMUs) (also known as diesel railcars) operate regularly in all Australian mainland states. DMU vehicles with traction motors are referred to as power cars, while those without traction motors are referred to as trailer cars.



NSW TrainLink operates the XPT that runs between Sydney and the interstate capital cities of Melbourne and Brisbane. It also operates the Xplorer that runs between Sydney and Canberra in the Australian Capital Territory. Further details about these trains are listed under New South Wales.


Links to states where Diesel Multiple Units operate are below.

New South Wales



Western Australia

South Australia


bottom of page