top of page

Electric Multiple Units

Set 166 leading IMU (Interurban Multiple Unit) 160, with SMU (Suburban Multiple Unit) 260 Set 292 at right, Bowen Hills, 14 January 2018.

All Australian mainland states have Electric Multiple Units (EMUs) in regular service. Electric Multiple Unit trains include motor cars, which have traction motors, and trailer cars, which do not have traction motors. The motor car is typically also the power car, which has a pantograph to receive electrical power to propel the train, but in some cases the trailer car is the power car. Electric Multiple Unit trains have a driving car, usually fitted with driving controls at one end, at each end of a set.


Links to states where Electric Multiple Units operate are below.

New South Wales



Western Australia

South Australia



bottom of page