top of page

Bendigo Line

Looking north towards Platform 1 at Bendigo, 18 December 2017.

Year Opened:

Sunbury–Woodend 1861; Woodend–Bendigo 1862



Clarkefield, Riddells Creek, Gisborne, Macedon, Woodend, Kyneton, Malmsbury, Castlemaine, Kangaroo Flat, Bendigo, Eaglehawk, Epsom


Typical Journey Time:

111 minutes (Southern Cross–Bendigo)


Typical Peak Frequency:

30 minutes (Bendigo)


Typical Off-peak Frequency:

60 minutes (Bendigo)


Typical Weekend Frequency:

60 minutes (Bendigo)

Bendigo is located north-west of Melbourne. The Bendigo line shares the Sunbury suburban line. It is double track as far as Kyneton, and then mostly single track with some sections of double track. Most services on the Bendigo line are operated by VLocity DMU railcars. Some Bendigo line trains terminate at Kyneton, Eaglehawk or Epsom, particularly during peak hours, providing ‘Bendigo Metro’ services. Trains to and from Echuca and Swan Hill share the Bendigo line.

bottom of page