top of page

Illawarra Line

Waterfall station, 5 October 2017.

Year Opened:

Redfern–Hurstville 1884; Hurstville–Sutherland 1885 Sutherland–Waterfall 1886


Central, Redfern, Erskineville, St Peters, Sydenham, Tempe, Wolli Creek, Arncliffe, Banksia, Rockdale, Kogarah, Carlton, Allawah, Hurstville, Penshurst, Mortdale, Oatley, Como, Jannali, Sutherland, Loftus, Engadine, Heathcote, Waterfall

Typical Journey Time:

26 minutes all stops, 20 minutes express (Central–Hurstville); 39 minutes (Central–Sutherland); 54 minutes (Central–Waterfall)

Typical Peak Frequency:

4 minutes (Hurstville); 6 minutes (Sutherland); 20 minutes (Waterfall)

Typical Off-peak Frequency:

10 minutes (Hurstville); 10 minutes (Sutherland); 30 minutes (Waterfall)

Typical Weekend Frequency:

10 minutes (Hurstville); 10 minutes (Sutherland); 20 minutes (Waterfall)

The Illawarra line extends to the southern suburbs of Sydney. It operates in conjunction with the Eastern Suburbs line, and the lines are combined in timetables. Between Central and Erskineville services travel along what is referred to as the Illawarra Relief line, which is underground, while the original Illawarra line is above ground. There are four tracks on the Illawarra line between Redfern and Hurstville, and two tracks south of Hurstville. Most Illawarra line services commence at Bondi Junction on the Eastern Suburbs line. Some weekday services terminate at Hurstville. Cronulla is serviced by a branch line from Sutherland. Erskineville and St Peters stations are located on the Illawarra line, but are currently serviced by Bankstown line trains, while a small number of services on the South line via East Hills also travel along this section, stopping at Redfern, St Peters and Sydenham.


bottom of page