top of page

Joondalup Line

B Series train at Clarkson station, 11 October 2009.

Year Opened:

Perth–Joondalup 1992; Joondalup–Currambine 1993; Currambine–Clarkson 2004; Clarkson–Butler 2014



Elizabeth Quay, Perth Underground, Leederville, Glendalough, Stirling, Warwick, Greenwood, Whitfords, Edgewater, Joondalup, Currambine, Clarkson, Butler


Typical Journey Time:

44 minutes (Elizabeth Quay–Butler)


Typical Peak Frequency:

5 minutes (Whitfords); 10 minutes (Butler)


Typical Off-peak Frequency:

15 minutes


Typical Weekend Frequency:

15 minutes

The Joondalup line extends to the northern suburbs of Perth. It is referred to as the Joondalup line because the first section opened to Joondalup in 1992, but it has since been extended. Most of the line runs in the median strip of the Mitchell Freeway, and it is double track throughout. In the Central Business District the line has two underground stations: Elizabeth Quay and Perth Underground. Services on the line stop at all stations. Most trains terminate at the line’s terminus at Butler, but some weekday services terminate at Whitfords and Clarkson, mostly during peak hours. Services from the Joondalup line typically extend to Mandurah after travelling through the city. The Western Australian Government’s Metronet policy proposes extension of the Joondalup line to Yanchep.


bottom of page