top of page

Mernda Line


X’Trapolis 100 train, Mernda station, looking towards Melbourne, 12 October 2018.

Year Opened:

Clifton Hill–Northcote Loop South Junction 1888; Northcote Loop South Junction– Northcote Loop North Junction 1904; Northcote Loop North Junction–Epping–Whittlesea 1889; Epping–Whittlesea closed 1959; Epping–South Morang re-opened 2012; South Morang–Mernda 2018



Jolimont-MCG, West Richmond, North Richmond, Collingwood, Victoria Park, Clifton Hill, Rushall, Merri, Northcote, Croxton, Thornbury, Bell, Preston, Regent, Reservoir, Ruthven, Keon Park, Thomastown, Lalor, Epping, South Morang, Middle Gorge, Hawkstowe, Mernda


Typical Journey Time:

61 minutes (Flinders Street–Mernda)


Typical Peak Frequency:

5 minutes (Clifton Hill); 10 minutes (Mernda)


Typical Off-peak Frequency:

10 minutes (Clifton Hill); 20 minutes (Mernda)


Typical Weekend Frequency:

10 minutes (Clifton Hill); 20 minutes (Mernda)

The Mernda line extends to the northern suburbs of Melbourne. It is double track from the City Loop to the terminus. The line was known as the Epping line until 2012 when it was extended to South Morang, and then became the Mernda line when it was further extended in 2018. Most services stop at all stations, the exceptions being some Down services during the morning peak hour. The line to Hurstbridge branches from the Mernda line at Clifton Hill. Between the city and Clifton Hill, services typically alternate between services terminating at South Morang and services terminating on the Hurstbridge line. Trains run clockwise around the City Loop at all times.


bottom of page