top of page
Anchor 1

T Set (Tangara)

Tangara Set T19 stabled between platforms 9 and 10, Central station, Sydney, 18 November 2017.

Road numbers:

D6101–13, D6115–26, D6128–73, D6275–89, D6801–30, D6833–41, N5101–26, N5128–85, N5801–15, N5817–20, N5851–65, N5867–70


Set numbers:

T1–50, T52, T56–65, T67–81, T83–4, T86–110, T121–2, T125–30



Sydney Trains



1435 mm


Year of entry into service:



Number built:






Manufacturing location:

Broadmeadow, NSW



42.3 t (D: driving trailer car); 50.1 t (N: non-driving motor car)



19.4 m (D: driving trailer car, N: non-driving motor car)



98 (D: driving trailer car); 112 (N: non-driving motor car)

Entering service in 1988, the Tangara Electric Multiple Units operate as four-car sets, with a driving trailer car at each end and two non-driving motor cars in the middle. The driving trailer cars are also power cars and each has a pantograph. Two sets are combined to form an eight-car train. Eighty of the Tangara carriages originally entered service as outer suburban G Set cars, but were later converted to T Sets; these sets are now numbered from T100 onwards. Seats on the Tangaras are fixed and their direction cannot be changed, with the exception of the former G Sets, which is unusual for suburban trains in Sydney. The Tangara trains typically operate on the Northern, North, Shore, Western, Illawarra, South Coast and Eastern Suburbs lines. They are maintained at Hornsby and Mortdale depots. Tangara is an Aboriginal word meaning ‘to go’.



bottom of page