top of page
Anchor 1


VLocity train with DM(D)1143 leading approaching Southern Cross station, Melbourne, 20 December 2017.

Road numbers:

DM1200–28, DM1230–1299, DM2200–2241; DM(D)1100–28, DM(D)1130–DM(D)1199, DM(D)2100–DM(D)2141; TM1300–28, TM1330–92, TM1399, TM2300–2341; TMC1593–98 (Not all in service yet)






1435 mm; 1600 mm


Year of entry into service:



Number built:

426 (Not all in service yet)



Bombardier Transportation


Manufacturing location:

Dandenong, Victoria



Cummins QSK19-R


Traction power:

559 kW



58.0 t



25.3 m



1435 mm gauge: 66 (DM: Driver power car); 48 (DM(D)): Driver power car with disabled toilet); 34 (TMC: Trailer motor car with buffet)

1600 mm gauge: 74 (DM: Driver power car); 66 (DM(D)): Driver power car with disabled toilet); 82 (TM: Trailer motor car)

The VLocity Diesel Multiple Units entered service in December 2005. Their design was based on the Xplorer and Endeavour Diesel Multiple Units in service in New South Wales. Parts and components were manufactured at different locations, with assembly occurring at Bombardier’s plant at Dandenong in Melbourne. Initially they operated with two carriages in each set but were later converted to three-carriage sets. They have a maximum speed of 160 km/h. Further VLocity carriages are currently being built, which will bring the total fleet to 106 three-carriage sets, which will be made up of 100 broad gauge and six standard gauge sets. Broad gague VLocity trains operate on the Ballarat, Ararat, Maryborough, Bendigo, Echuca, Seymour, Geelong and Traralgon lines, with one service on the Bairnsdale line to Sale. Standard gauge VLocity trains operate between Melbourne and Albury. The standard gauge sets include a buffet.



bottom of page