top of page


Railway lines in Tasmania are narrow gauge, with the exception of some tourist railways.

Links to maps of the major railway lines in Tasmania are below.

Australian Rail Maps: National Rail Map (including Tasmania)

TasRail map



TasRail maintains and operates an extensive railway network in Tasmania. The network consists of 611 km of operational track and 232 km of non-operational track. The operational track consists of the following lines:

  • South line, from Western Junction (near Evandale) to Brighton (near Hobart), 175 km in length

  • Bell Bay line, from East Tamar Junction (near Launceston) to the Port of Bell Bay, 57 km in length

  • Western line, from East Tamar Junction to Burnie, 176 km in length

  • Fingal line, from Conara Junction to Fingal, 55 km in length

  • Derwent Valley line, from Brighton to Boyer, 18 km in length

  • Melba line, from Burnie to Melba Flats, 130 km in length, and part of the former Emu Bay Railway line.

Non-operational lines run between Hobart and Bridgewater, Boyer and Maydena, Burnie and Wiltshire, and between Coldwater Creek Junction (near Launceston) and Tonganah.

bottom of page