top of page


Suburban passenger train services in Melbourne are operated by Metro (Metro Trains Melbourne). Metro organises lines in the Melbourne suburban area into groups:

  • Burnley Group: Lilydale, Belgrave, Alamein, Glen Waverley

  • Caulfield Group: Pakenham, Cranbourne, Frankston, Sandringham

  • Clifton Hill Group: Hurstbridge, Mernda

  • Northern Group: Craigieburn, Sunbury, Upfield, Werribee, Williamstown, Flemington Racecourse

  • Cross-city Group: Werribee, Williamstown line, Frankston.


Passenger train services in the Melbourne interurban area are provided by V/Line and are referred to as Regional Rail Link services. They service the Geelong, Ballarat, Bendigo, Seymour and Traralgon lines. Suburban and interurban train services in the Melbourne area operate on broad gauge (1600 mm) tracks.

Links to suburban and interurban lines are below.

City Loop Line

Lilydale Line

Glen Waverley Line

Alamein Line

Belgrave Line

Pakenham Line

Cranbourne Line

Frankston Line

Stony Point Line

Sandringham Line

Hurstbridge Line

Mernda Line

Werribee Line

Williamstown Line

Sunbury Line

Craigieburn Line

Upfield Line

Flemington Racecourse Line

Geelong Line

Ballarat Line

Bendigo Line

Seymour Line

Traralgon Line

bottom of page